Van Morrison has announced details of a new album, The Prophet Speaks—his 40th studio album. The Prophet Speaks will be released on 7th December on CD, 2 x 12” and all digital platforms via Caroline Australia. The 14-track album follows a recent run of hugely acclaimed albums (Roll With The Punches, Versatile and You’re Driving Me Crazy), each of which have delved deep into the musical styles—vocal jazz and R&B—that have continued to inspire Van throughout his life. Here, Van takes on a series of unarguable classics by the likes of John Lee Hooker, Sam Cooke and Solomon Burke (among others) and makes them unmistakably his own. Alongside these reinterpretations, The Prophet Speaks features six phenomenal new Van Morrison compositions.

“It was important for me to get back to recording new music as well as doing some of the blues material that has inspired me from the beginning. Writing songs and making music is what I do, and working with great musicians makes it all the more enjoyable.” Van explains.

The Prophet Speaks again finds Van working with the incredible multi-instrumentalist Joey DeFrancesco (the artist co-credited on You’re Driving Me Crazy) and his band (including Dan Wilson on guitar, Michael Ode on drums and Troy Roberts on tenor saxophone).

The title track from The Prophet Speaks is available now with digital pre-order.

The Prophet Speaks is due for release on Friday, 7th December 2018.

You can can pre-order The Prophet Speaks here.

Follow Van Morrison


Photo: suppied